Ouvert tous les jours de 11h à 19h — Entrée gratuite —  Infos pratiques 
Tous les jours 11h-19h – Gratuit –  Infos pratiques 

Exhibitions

Previous Productions

Le Soir du Poulpe

Lucie Picandet

Drawing Now Prize 2019

30 January - 20 February 2020

Taken from the title of my short story written in 2011, Le Soir du Poulpe is also a short film project in progress. In this exhibition, you will be able to see the storyboard boards, before entering one of the rooms of the decor: a Parisian maid’s room where the protagonist writes the short story Le Soir du Poulpe.

+
Previous Productions

The Projective Drawing

Collective exhibition

Curator: Brett Littman

28 June - 20 September 2019

In The Projective Drawing, curator Brett Littman applies Evans’ theory, which takes a skeptical look at drawing as a means of understanding the foundations of architecture, to challenge our understanding of how drawing technique works in contemporary culture by highlighting artists whose drawings require visitors to activate a complex matrix of non-traditional ideas in their interpretation of works. Presented.

+
Previous Productions

Élisée, a biography

FLORENTINE & ALEXANDRE LAMARCHE-OVIZE

CURATOR: SOLENN MOREL

13 OCTOBER 2019 - 9 JANUARY 2020

The exhibition Élisée, a biography, aims to reconstruct a concentrate of landscape, reconciling the absolute and the fragment. The floor, the walls, the ceiling are invested. The visitor is surrounded everywhere by flowers, the sky, mountains, streams, trees. They are drawn, painted, screen printed, printed. Ceramic seats, as well as cork and felt from a collaboration with designer Romain Guillet, punctuate the course as many spaces and potential rest times. The visitor is invited to stop, observe the landscape that presents itself to him, but also to read or dream about anything else.

+
Previous Productions

)( ) DRAWING AS THINKING IN ACTION

Nikolaus Gansterer

Curator: Jeanette Pacher

22 March - 15 June 2019

Taking this quote from the British artist Avis Newman as a starting point, the exhibition by Nikolaus Gansterer, an Austrian artist, highlights a broad conception of drawing that apprehends it as a process, that realizes and recognizes the both established and supposed potentials of this art form, as well as those that can still be revealed through experimentation and curiosity, and who imagines various forms by which the drawing can be made manifest, materialize and take shape.

+
Previous Productions

I Am Everywhere

MICHAIL MICHAILOV

Drawing Now Awards 2018

30 January - 2 March 2019

At first glance, there is nothing. At least so little that the eye is immediately summoned to scrutinize the sheet of paper on which he thinks he sees only fine dust or grease stains. On closer inspection, he quickly takes the measure of a form of trompe-l’oeil, to finally dig even further and discover how the artist competes with reality with the help of simple black and colored pencils. Thwarts all perception of it and turns it over to the order of a pretense.

+
Previous Productions

Danse de travers

Christian Lhopital

Curator: Jean-Hubert Martin

16 OCTOBER 2018 - 9 JANUARY 2019

There are works that jump out at you, that almost assault the viewer, when the colours burst out like grenades, and then there are those that are more discreet, that make less noise and into which one penetrates, discovering little by little a troubled and unknown world, at the risk of losing oneself in it, or at least of coming out of it with more worries than certainties. Christian Lhopital’s drawings belong to the latter group.

+
Previous Productions

Extenuating circumstances

LEK & SOWAT

DIRECTOR: CRISTOBAL DIAZ

13 - 21 SEPTEMBER 2018

Extenuating Circumstances is an evocative title in a world where urban art is torn between the judicial convictions of some and the institutional recognition of others. Lek & Sowat are self-taught artists from the illegal practice of graffiti, but recognized and exhibited by official cultural institutions, and in particular by the Villa Medici, which welcomed them as boarders under the title of “urban artists” (new name) in 2016.
With this film, Cristobal Diaz reflects on the writing of a history of contemporary art and his plastic research. He chooses to start from an exhibition to end up with a film that offers several possible levels of reading, through an aesthetic thought and mastered as part of an in situ realization.

+
Previous Productions

Summer cinema

Collective exhibition

28 JUNE - 8 SEPTEMBER 2018

On a proposal from Christine Phal, founder of the Drawing Lab and DRAWING NOW Art Fair, the members of the artistic committee invited emerging artists from the young European scene to present drawing and animation videos.
This program of videos reveals the diversity and richness of contemporary drawing that never ceases to surprise. The drawing takes possession of the place by animating itself in different forms.

+
Previous Productions

Ce qui me traverse

GAËLLE CHOTARD

CURATOR: VALENTINE MEYER

20 MARCH - 16 JUNE 2018

For her exhibition at the Drawing Lab, Gaëlle Chotard has created an in situ installation: the framework, begun in the studio, has been finalised in the space in order to experiment with the spontaneity offered by drawing and the understanding of space. The artist presents the drawing in volume and tension but this time placed in darkness, like a shadow theater as well as an unpublished selection of drawings and washes made between 2014 and 2018.

+

Ouvert tous les jours de 11h à 19h — Entrée gratuite —  Infos pratiques 
Fermé jusqu'au 16.10 11h – Gratuit –  Infos pratiques 

Expositions

Productions Passées

Le Soir du Poulpe

Lucie Picandet

Prix Drawing Now 2019

30 Janvier - 20 Février 2020

Tiré du titre de ma nouvelle écrite en 2011, Le Soir du Poulpe est également un projet de court métrage en cours de réalisation. Dans cette exposition, vous pourrez voir les planches du story-board, avant d’entrer dans l’une des pièces du décor : une chambre de bonne parisienne où la protagoniste écrit justement la nouvelle Le Soir du Poulpe.

+
Productions Passées

The Projective Drawing

Exposition collective

Commissariat : Brett Littman

28 juin - 20 septembre 2019

Dans The Projective Drawing le commissaire d’exposition Brett Littman applique la théorie d’Evans, qui porte un regard sceptique sur le dessin en tant que moyen de compréhension des fondements de l’architecture, pour remettre en question notre compréhension du fonctionnement de la technique du dessin dans la culture contemporaine en mettant en avant les artistes dont les dessins demandent aux visiteurs d’activer une matrice complexe d’idées non traditionnelles dans leur interprétation des œuvres présentées.

+
Productions Passées

Élisée, une biographie

FLORENTINE & ALEXANDRE LAMARCHE-OVIZE

COMMISSARIAT : SOLENN MOREL

13 OCTOBRE 2019 - 9 JANVIER 2020

L’exposition Élisée, une biographie, entend reconstituer un concentré de paysage, réconciliant l’absolu et le fragment. Le sol, les murs, le plafond sont investis. Le visiteur est entouré, partout des fleurs, du ciel, des montagnes, des ruisseaux, des arbres. Ils sont dessinés, peints, sérigraphies, imprimés. Des assises en céramique, ainsi qu’en liège et en feutre issues d’une collaboration avec le designer Romain Guillet, ponctuent le parcours comme autant d’espaces et temps de repos potentiels. Le visiteur est invité à s’arrêter, observer le paysage qui se présente à lui, mais aussi à lire ou rêver à tout autre chose.

+
Productions Passées

)( ) DRAWING AS THINKING IN ACTION

Nikolaus Gansterer

Commissariat : Jeanette Pacher

22 mars - 15 juin 2019

En prenant cette citation de l’artiste britannique Avis Newman comme point de départ, l’exposition de Nikolaus Gansterer, artiste autrichien, met en lumière une conception élargie du dessin qui appréhende celui-ci en tant que processus, qui réalise et reconnaît les potentiels à la fois établis et supposés de cette forme d’art, ainsi que ceux qui peuvent encore être révélés par l’expérimentation et par la curiosité, et qui imagine des formes diverses par lesquelles le dessin peut être rendu manifeste, se matérialiser et prendre forme.

+
Productions Passées

I Am Everywhere

MICHAIL MICHAILOV

Prix Drawing Now 2018

30 janvier - 2 mars 2019

À première vue, il n’y a rien. Du moins si peu que le regard est immédiatement convoqué à scruter la feuille de papier sur laquelle il croit ne voir que poussières fines ou taches de graisse. À regarder de plus près, il prend vite la mesure d’une forme de trompe-l’œil, pour finalement fouiller encore plus avant et découvrir comment l’artiste rivalise avec le réel à l’aide de simples crayons noir et de couleurs. En déjoue toute perception et le fait basculer à l’ordre d’un faux-semblant.

+
Productions Passées

Danse de travers

Christian Lhopital

Commissariat : Jean-Hubert Martin

16 OCTOBRE 2018 - 9 JANVIER 2019

Il y a les œuvres qui vous sautent à la figure, qui agressent quasiment le regardeur, lorsque les couleurs en jaillissent comme des grenades, et puis il y a celles plus discrètes, qui font moins de bruit et dans lesquelles on pénètre, en découvrant petit à petit un monde trouble et inconnu, au risque de s’y perdre ou au moins d’en ressortir avec plus d’inquiétudes que de certitudes. Les dessins de Christian Lhopital appartiennent à ce dernier groupe.

+
Productions Passées

Circonstances atténuantes

LEK & SOWAT

RÉALISATEUR : CRISTOBAL DIAZ

13 - 21 SEPTEMBRE 2018

Circonstances Atténuantes est un titre évocateur dans un monde où l’art urbain est tiraillé entre les condamnations judiciaires des uns et la reconnaissance institutionnelle des autres. Lek & Sowat sont des artistes autodidactes issus de la pratique illégale du graffiti, mais reconnus et exposés par les institutions culturelles officielles, et notamment par la Villa Médicis, qui les a accueillis en tant que pensionnaires au titre “d’artistes urbains” (dénomination inédite) en 2016.
Avec ce film, Cristobal Diaz réfléchit à l’écriture d’une histoire de l’art contemporain et de ses recherches plastiques. Il choisit de partir d’une exposition pour aboutir à un film qui propose plusieurs niveaux de lecture possibles, au travers d’une esthétique pensée et maitrisée dans le cadre d’une réalisation in situ.

+
Productions Passées

Cinéma d’été

Exposition collective

28 JUIN - 8 SEPTEMBRE 2018

Sur une proposition de Christine Phal, fondatrice du Drawing Lab et de DRAWING NOW Art Fair, les membres du comité artistique ont invité des artistes émergents de la jeune scène européenne à présenter des vidéos de dessin et d’animation.
Cette programmation de vidéos dévoile la diversité et la richesse du dessin contemporain qui ne cesse de surprendre. Le dessin prend possession du lieu en s’animant sous différentes formes.

+
Productions Passées

Ce qui me traverse

GAËLLE CHOTARD

COMMISSARIAT : VALENTINE MEYER

20 MARS - 16 JUIN 2018

Pour son exposition au Drawing Lab, Gaëlle Chotard réalise une installation in situ : la trame, commencée à l’atelier, a été finalisée dans le lieu afin d’expérimenter la spontanéité offerte par le dessin et la compréhension de l’espace. L’artiste donne à voir le dessin en volume et en tension mais cette fois placé dans l’obscurité, comme un théâtre d’ombres ainsi qu’un choix inédit de dessins et de lavis réalisés entre 2014 et 2018.

+
Productions Passées

Free

VALENTIN VAN DER MEULEN

6 - 24 FÉVRIER 2018

Free est une installation artistique conçue par l’artiste Valentin van der Meulen. Cette installation propose aux visiteurs de venir découvrir des dessins contemporains inspirés de photos d’individus comme pris sur le vif, questionnant les codes de l’image d’actualité.
Il incite les visiteurs à se questionner sur l’importance et l’influence des images dans notre société actuelle, dont le quotidien est constamment envahi par les médias et les réseaux sociaux.

+
Article ajouté au panier
0 Produit - 0,00