OUVERT DU MARDI AU SAMEDI 11H-19H | ENTRÉE GRATUITE | INFOS PRATIQUES |
OUVERT DU MARDI AU SAMEDI 11H-19H | GRATUIT | INFOS PRATIQUES |

DRAWING POWER – Children of Compost

26 June - 30 September 2021

Curator: Joana P. R. Neves

The exhibition DRAWING POWER - Children of Compost explores the sometimes unsuspected power of drawing to act and reflect on current ecological issues. Drawing creates shapes and representations, diagrams and patterns, scenes and figures. We need these new representations to imagine differently, and thus change our role on the planet: the way we conceive of life is the way we realize it.

To do this, authors committed to the fight against the climate emergency such as anthropologists Philippe Descola and Eduardo Khon, and philosophers of science Isabelle Stengers or Donna J. Haraway, propose to go beyond the nature/culture¹ duo that places "nature" at the service of humans and their needs, as a "product" to which they are linked only as consumers. In 2010, UNESCO's "Declaration of Bio-Cultural Diversity" clearly affirmed the interconnection of biological and cultural diversity².

Thus, in the plastic arts, notions inheriting this separation such as the landscape, the garden, the bucolic feeling, the sublime, are naturally reviewed by the artists. The need to feed on immersive and connected knowledge other than our humanism from an imperialist period is manifested by the recognition of indigenous art as contemporary art, but also by immersion in the combined ecosystems of art and the environment. These new perspectives formulate multiple conceptions of the body, science, sexuality, work and time in parallel with ultra-capitalist production systems.

Thus, from data collection to interventions on sites, drawing takes on the role of interface to propose new representations of living together. This involves a dialogue with humans and non-humans, to quote Donna J. Haraway, from whom we borrow the subtitle "children of compost" designating a future era of life regenerated by new conceptions of life³. It is this future that DRAWING POWER - Children of Compostproposes to build on the difficulties of the present.

We explore the living in the transition period in which we live (with polluting materials without which it would be difficult to work). We are embarking on a future that has already been compromised, but whose destiny is to be made if we employ new representations to question the failing conceptions of our cultures. Drawing helps to build these conceptions, in its ability to schematize complex laws, geopolitical boundaries, to activate certain aspects of ancestral cultures in the same way as modern technology, to imagine the temporality of creation rather than "productivity", in short, to understand our presence on the planet as compost - a generating rather than usurping presence.

Light, elementary, sometimes linguistic, drawing brings a unique territory of reflection and action. The artists invited to participate in this exhibition embody a broad spectrum of practices. They range from activism to work far from major cities, to performative, socio-political or politico-poetic experiences. Some artists, such as the duo Hipkiss place themselves on the fringes of urban life and defend an eco-feminist view; others, such as Jaanika Peerna, engage the public in the future of the work depicting cast-of-the-road glaciers; artists of the Kwoma people in New Papua, Agatoak Kowspi and Kowspi Marek, borrowed Western drawing tools to draw their hitherto oral cosmogony; some leave in recognition of intense areas of eco-social fighting such as Marcos Ávila Forero and Noémie Perez; while others contribute to an upstream awareness of ecological concerns such as Emily Lazerwitz, who reread the Bible as an iconoclast, keeping only the "first semantics", namely elementary words, like new seeds.

 

Joana P. R. Neves
Curator of the exhibition

 

¹ Philippe Descola, Par delà nature et culture, Folio Essais, Gallimard, 2015.
² http://www.unesco.org/new/en/natural-sciences/special-themes/biodiversity/biodiversity-culture/unesco-cbd-joint-programme/
³ Donna J. Haraway, Staying with the Trouble, Making Kin in the Chthulucene, 2016, Duke University Press.

ARTISTS FROM THE FRAC PICARDIE COLLECTION

Agatoak Kowspi
Chiphowka Kowspi
Marek Kowspi
Wolfgang Laib
Richard Long
Bernard Moninot
Yazid Oulab
Giuseppe Pennone
Tabaimo

#DRAWINGPOWER
@DRAWINGLABPARIS

Barthélémy Toguo, Terra Incognita, 2019

Barthélémy Toguo, Terra Incognita, 2019
Wood imprint engraved on paper, 65 x 50 cm
Copy 1/3 - W21732
© Galerie Lelong & Co.

PARTNERS

OPENING

SATURDAY, JUNE 26, 2021 | 11AM-7PM
Practical information
Contact us

PRESS

PREVIEW FRIDAY, JUNE 25, 2021 | 9AM -
11AM
Download the press release
Ask for more visuals

PRESS

DRAWING POWER - Children of Compost | Frac Picardie | JUNE 10 - JULY 4,
2021
45 rue Pointin - AMIENS (80)

Practical information
Contact them


DRAWING NOW Alternative | 10 - 13 JUNE
2021
42 rue du Faubourg Saint-Antoine - PARIS 12

Practical information
Contact them

 

VIEWS OF THE EXHIBITION

Item added to cart.
0 items - 0,00

FERMÉ TEMPORAIREMENT | ENTRÉE GRATUITE | INFOS PRATIQUES |
FERMÉ TEMPORAIREMENT | GRATUIT | INFOS PRATIQUES |

DRAWING POWER – Children of Compost

26 juin - 30 septembre 2021

Commissariat : Joana P. R. Neves

L’exposition DRAWING POWER - Children of Compost explore le pouvoir, parfois insoupçonné, du dessin pour agir et réfléchir sur les enjeux écologiques actuels. Le dessin crée des formes et des représentations, des diagrammes et des motifs, des scènes et des figures. Nous avons besoin de ces nouvelles représentations pour imaginer autrement, et ainsi changer notre rôle sur la planète : la façon dont on conçoit la vie est la façon dont on la réalise.

Pour ce faire, des auteurs engagés dans la lutte de l’urgence climatique tels que les anthropologues Philippe Descola et Eduardo Khon, et les philosophes des sciences Isabelle Stengers ou Donna J. Haraway, proposent de dépasser le binôme nature/culture¹ qui place "la nature" au service des humains et de leurs besoins, comme un "produit" auquel ils ne sont liés que comme consommateurs. En 2010, la "déclaration de diversité bio-culturelle" de l’Unesco a clairement affirmé l’interconnexion de la diversité biologique et culturelle².

Ainsi, dans les arts plastiques, des notions héritières de cette séparation comme le paysage, le jardin, le sentiment bucolique, le sublime, sont naturellement revus par les artistes. Le besoin de se nourrir de savoirs immersifs et connectés autres que notre humanisme issu d’une période impérialiste est manifesté par la reconnaissance de l’art indigène comme art contemporain, mais aussi par l’immersion dans les écosystèmes combinés de l’art et de l’environnement. Ces nouvelles perspectives formulent des conceptions multiples du corps, de la science, de la sexualité, du travail et du temps en parallèle aux systèmes de production ultra-capitalistes.

Ainsi, du rassemblement de données à des interventions sur des sites, le dessin prend le rôle d’interface pour proposer de nouvelles représentations du vivre ensemble. Ceci implique un dialogue avec des humains et des non-humains, pour citer Donna J. Haraway, à qui nous empruntons le sous-titre "enfants du compost" désignant une ère future de vie régénérée par de nouvelles conceptions du vivant³. C’est ce futur que DRAWING POWER - Children of Compost propose de construire sur les difficultés du présent.

Nous explorons le vivant dans la période de transition où nous vivons (avec des matériaux polluants sans lesquels il serait difficile de travailler). Nous nous engageons dans un futur déjà compromis, mais dont le destin est à faire si nous employons de nouvelles représentations pour interroger les conceptions défaillantes de nos cultures. Le dessin aide à édifier ces conceptions, dans sa capacité à schématiser des lois complexes, des frontières géopolitiques, à activer certains aspects des cultures ancestrales au même titre que la technologie moderne, à imaginer la temporalité de la création plutôt que de la "productivité", bref, de comprendre notre présence sur la planète comme compost - une présence génératrice plutôt qu’usurpatrice.

Léger, élémentaire, parfois langagier, le dessin apporte un territoire de réflexion et d’action unique. Les artistes invités à participer à cette exposition incarnent un spectre large de pratiques. Elles vont de l’activisme au travail éloigné des grandes métropoles, aux expériences performatives, socio-politiques ou politico-poétiques. Certains artistes, comme le duo Hipkiss se placent en marge de la vie urbaine et défendent une vue éco-féministe ; d’autres, comme Jaanika Peerna, engagent le public dans le devenir de l’œuvre représentant des glaciers en fonte ; des artistes du peuple Kwoma en Nouvelle-Papouasie, Agatoak Kowspi et Kowspi Marek, ont emprunté les outils de dessin occidentaux pour dessiner leur cosmogonie jusqu’alors orale ; certains partent en reconnaissance de zones intenses de combats éco-sociaux comme Marcos Ávila Forero et Noémie Perez ; tandis que d’autres contribuent à une sensibilisation en amont de préoccupations écologiques comme Emily Lazerwitz, qui a relu la Bible en iconoclaste, n’en gardant que les "sémantiques premiers", à savoir des mots élémentaires, comme de nouvelles semences.

 

Joana P. R. Neves
Commissaire de l’exposition

 

¹ Philippe Descola, Par delà nature et culture, Folio Essais, Gallimard, 2015.
² http://www.unesco.org/new/en/natural-sciences/special-themes/biodiversity/biodiversity-culture/unesco-cbd-joint-programme/
³ Donna J. Haraway, Staying with the Trouble, Making Kin in the Chthulucene, 2016, Duke University Press.

AVEC

Marcos Ávila Forero
Gabriela Albergaria
Raffaella della Olga
Hipkiss
Emily Lazerwitz
Lucy + Jorge Orta
Cyril Pedrosa
Nohemí Pérez
Jaanika Perna
Amanda Riffo
Barthélémy Toguo
Pep Vidal

ARTISTES ISSUS DE LA COLLECTION DU FRAC PICARDIE

Agatoak Kowspi
Chiphowka Kowspi
Wolfgang Laib
Richard Long
Kowspi Marek
Bernard Moninot
Yazid Oulab
Giuseppe Pennone
Tabaimo

#DRAWINGPOWER
@DRAWINGLABPARIS

Barthélémy Toguo, Terra Incognita, 2019

Barthélémy Toguo, Terra Incognita, 2019
Empreinte de bois gravé sur papier, 65 x 50 cm
Exemplaire 1/3 - W21732
© Galerie Lelong & Co.

PARTENAIRES

VERNISSAGE

SAMEDI 26 JUIN 2021  |  11H-19H
Informations pratiques
Nous contacter

PRESSE

PREVIEW VENDREDI 25 JUIN 2021  |  9H - 11H
Demander + de visuels

AUTOUR DE L'EXPOSITION

DRAWING POWER - Children of Compost  |  Frac Picardie  |  10 JUIN - 4 JUILLET 2021
45 rue Pointin  - AMIENS (80)

Informations pratiques
Les contacter


DRAWING NOW Alternative  |  10 - 13 JUIN 2021
42 rue du Faubourg Saint-Antoine - PARIS 12

Informations pratiques
Les contacter

 

VISUELS DE L'EXPOSITION

Article ajouté au panier
0 Produit - 0,00