OUVERT DU MARDI AU SAMEDI 11H-19H | ENTRÉE GRATUITE | INFOS PRATIQUES |
OUVERT DU MARDI AU SAMEDI 11H-19H | GRATUIT | INFOS PRATIQUES |

Tierradentro

March 13 - June 17, 2021

Artist: Daniel Otero Torres

Curator: Anaïs Lepage

Tierradentro, in French "the land of the interior", derives from an archaeological site located north of the Andes in Cauca in Colombia. Protected for its monumental sculptures and buried tombs, it houses the remains of a vast pre-Hispanic culture known only in fragments.

From this place, Daniel Otero Torres updates pre-Columbian knowledge and legends from various regions of Latin America; imagines correspondences with archaic cultures of the Mediterranean basin; is inspired by Hindu and Egyptian deities; weaves parallels with contemporary events and experiences that are personal to him. Borrowing the gaze of the anthropologist, the naturalist, the physicist, or the reader of science fiction, he develops a hybrid and impure cosmogony made of friction and reconciliations.

Its practice is thus that of fragmentation, collusion and detail. Each drawing is the result of a process of collecting archival or media images and photographs made during trips, which he combines in heterogeneous compositions. These combinations are then deployed, enlarged or miniaturized; relieved of any context element; then transposed through drawing on paper, stainless steel and ceramic.

Through various narrative paths — the fighters forgotten during the conflicts of the XX th century, the psychotropic powers of Brugmansiasplants, the transformations of the man-jaguar, the genetic variations at the origin of the evolution of species, or the dogs without a master with multiple names — the exhibition explores the themes of the journey between the worlds, the links between sacred and profane, between vernacular cultures and planetary thought, between intimate memories and collective memory.

"Tierradentro" generates a new system of relations between time and beings. It is a space where another history of crossings and syncretism occurs; where the challenge is to think about what connects us to others from the point of view of myth, political struggles, as well as emotional and daily life. Place, ship, feeling and planet, for Daniel Otero Torres, "Tierradentro" is all this at once.

 

Anaïs Lepage
Curator of the exhibition

#TIERRADENTRO
@DRAWINGLABPARIS

Daniel Otero Torres, Hamaca, 2021, crayon sur papier, 153,5 x 114,5 cm © Daniel Otero Torres, production Drawing Lab Paris

Daniel Otero Torres, Hamaca, 2021, pencil on paper, 153.5 x 114.5 cm
© Daniel Otero Torres, production Drawing Lab Paris

PARTNERS

OPENING

SATURDAY 13 MARCH 2021 | FROM 11 a.m
EN THE ARTIST AND CURATOR
Practical Information
Contact us

PRESS

PREVIEW THURSDAY, MARCH 11, 2021 | 9AM-11AM
Download the press kit
Ask for more visuals

VIDEO TOUR

Rendez-vous

No event found!

Visit

A QUESTION? ASK OUR CULTURAL MEDIATOR.
FREE CHAT SERVICE FROM MONDAY TO SATURDAY FROM 11AM TO 7PM

THE ARTIST/CURATOR DUO

Portrait de Daniel Otero Torres © Olivier Lechat, Drawing Lab Paris

Daniel Otero Torres

Born in 1985 in Bogota (Colombia) and graduated from the National School of Fine Arts in Lyon - Prix de Paris 2010, Daniel Otero Torres lives and works in Paris.

Daniel Otero Torres was a resident of L'Attrape-couleurs in Lyon and the Cité des Arts de Paris (2011-2012), the Moly-Sabata residence in Sablons, France (2014) and Villa Belleville (2015-2016). He received the prize from the General Council of the National School of Fine Arts in Lyon; the Rhône-Alpes Prize for Young Creation, Rendez-vous 15, Lyon Biennale; and the award for the creation and research program Outside the Walls of the French Institute.

His works have been exhibited in many French and international institutions such as the Bullukian Foundation, Lyon (2010); Heidelberg Kunstverein, Germany (2011); Kunstverein Sparkasse, Leipzig, Germany (2014); The Centre for Contemporary Art in Villeurbanne (2016); the MRAC Sérignan Regional Museum of Contemporary Art — where he presents a solo exhibition (De)placements (2017) and a group exhibition Bands apart (2018); The Sheet, Clermont Ferrand (2019); FLAX Foundation, Los Angeles (2019); Espacio 23 from the Jorge Perez collection, Miami (2019) and MACAAL, Marrakech (2020).

FIND OUT MORE
Portrait Anaïs Lepage © Olivier Lechat, Drawing Lab Paris

Anaïs Lepage

Anaïs Lepage is an exhibition curator, art historian and curator.

Her research focuses on the excesses and minority facts of art history in connection with a cultural history of affects and spirituality, decolonial, gender and feminist studies. She reflects on the forms of writing on art by moving critical, narrative and intimate registers during collaborations, workshops and performances.

Trained in Art History at the École du Louvre, in Museology at the University of Quebec in Montreal and in Curatorial Studies at the University of Paris I Panthéon Sorbonne, she multiplies her experiences in France and abroad. She started at the Maison Rouge in Paris, at the Museum of Contemporary Art in Montreal and alongside Guillaume Désanges at the Verrière - Fondation Hermès in Brussels. She then became an assistant curator at the Museum of Modern Art in Paris, the Museum of Contemporary Art in Chengdu and the Louis Vuitton Foundation in Paris.

She co-founded the curatorial platform HEIWATA, based between Paris, Mexico City and Toronto, and participates in the queer and feminist writing workshop How to Suppress Universty Writing led by Émilie Noteris. She has developed projects with artists such as Madison Bycroft, Julien Creuzet, Gaelle Choisne, Tarik Kiswanson, Ad Minoliti and Rachel Rose. She has recently collaborated with AICA International, CNEAI, the Palais de Tokyo and the International City of Arts in Paris. Since 2019, she has been teaching the exhibition curatorship at the University of Paris 1 Panthéon-Sorbonne.

VIEWS OF THE EXHIBITION

Item added to cart.
0 items - 0,00

Ouvert tous les jours de 11h à 19h — Entrée gratuite —  Infos pratiques 
Tous les jours 11h-19h – Gratuit –  Infos pratiques 

Tierradentro

13 mars - 17 juin 2021

Artiste : Daniel Otero Torres

Commissariat : Anaïs Lepage

Tierradentro, en français “la terre de l’intérieur”, dérive d’un site archéologique situé au nord de la Cordillère des Andes dans le Cauca en Colombie. Protégé pour ses sculptures monumentales et ses tombeaux enfouis, il abrite les vestiges d’une vaste culture préhispanique connue seulement par bribes.

Depuis ce lieu, Daniel Otero Torres réactualise des savoirs et des légendes précolombiennes de diverses régions d’Amérique Latine ; imagine des correspondances avec des cultures archaïques du bassin méditerranéen ; s’inspire de divinités hindoues et égyptiennes ; tisse des parallèles avec des événements contemporains et des expériences qui lui sont personnelles. Empruntant le regard de l'anthropologue, du naturaliste, du physicien, ou encore du lecteur de science-fiction, il élabore une cosmogonie hybride et impure faite de frottements et de réconciliations.

Sa pratique est ainsi celle de la fragmentation, de la collusion et du détail. Chaque dessin est le résultat d’un processus de récolte d’images d’archives ou médiatiques et de photographies réalisées lors de voyages, qu’il associe en des compositions hétéroclites. Ces combinaisons sont ensuite déployées, agrandies ou miniaturisées ; délestées de tout élément de contexte ; puis transposées par le biais du dessin sur papier, inox et céramique.

À travers des chemins narratifs variés —les combattantes oubliées lors des conflits du XXème siècle, les pouvoirs psychotropes des plantes Brugmansias, les transformations de l’homme-jaguar, les variations génétiques à l’origine de l’évolution des espèces, ou encore les chiens sans maître aux multiples noms— l’exposition explore les thèmes du voyage entre les mondes, des liens entre sacré et profane, entre cultures vernaculaires et pensée planétaire, entre souvenirs intimes et mémoire collective.

“Tierradentro” engendre un nouveau système de relations entre le temps et les êtres. C’est un espace où se produit une autre histoire des traversées et des syncrétismes ; où l’enjeu est de penser ce qui nous relie à d’autres du point de vue du mythe, des luttes politiques, autant que de la vie affective et quotidienne. Lieu, vaisseau, sentiment et planète, pour Daniel Otero Torres, “Tierradentro” est tout cela à la fois.

 

Anaïs Lepage
Commissaire de l’exposition

#TIERRADENTRO
@DRAWINGLABPARIS

Daniel Otero Torres, Hamaca, 2021, crayon sur papier, 153,5 x 114,5 cm © Daniel Otero Torres, production Drawing Lab Paris

Daniel Otero Torres, Hamaca, 2021, crayon sur papier, 153,5 x 114,5 cm
© Daniel Otero Torres, production Drawing Lab Paris

PARTENAIRES

VERNISSAGE

SAMEDI 13 MARS 2021  |  DÈS 11H
EN PRÉSENCE DE L'ARTISTE ET DE LA COMMISSAIRE DE L'EXPOSITION
Informations pratiques
Nous contacter

PRESSE

PREVIEW JEUDI 11 MARS 2021  |  9H-11H
Télécharger le dossier de presse
Demander + de visuels

VISITE VIDÉO

Rendez-Vous

Aucun événement trouvé !
En savoir plus

Visiter

UNE QUESTION ? INTERROGEZ NOTRE MÉDIATRICE CULTURELLE.
SERVICE GRATUIT PAR CHAT DU LUNDI AU SAMEDI DE 11H À 19H

LE DUO ARTISTE / COMMISSAIRE

Portrait de Daniel Otero Torres © Olivier Lechat, Drawing Lab Paris

Daniel Otero Torres

Né en 1985 à Bogota (Colombie) et diplômé de l’Ecole nationale des Beaux-Arts de Lyon – Prix de Paris 2010, Daniel Otero Torres vit et travaille à Paris.

Daniel Otero Torres a été résident de L’attrape-couleurs à Lyon et de la Cité des arts de Paris (2011-2012), de la résidence Moly-Sabata à Sablons, France (2014) et de la Villa Belleville (2015-2016). Il a reçu le prix du Conseil général de l’École nationale des Beaux-Arts de Lyon ; le prix Rhône-Alpes de la Jeune Création, Rendez-vous 15, Biennale de Lyon ; et le prix du programme de création et de recherche Hors les murs de l’Institut français.

Ses œuvres ont été exposées au sein de nombreuses institutions françaises et internationales telles que la Fondation Bullukian, Lyon (2010) ; le Heidelberg Kunstverein, Allemagne (2011) ; le Kunstverein Sparkasse, Leipzig, Allemagne (2014) ; le Centre d’art contemporain de Villeurbanne (2016) ; le Musée Régional d’Art Contemporain MRAC Sérignan —où il présente une exposition personnelle (Dé)placements (2017) et une exposition collective Bandes à part (2018) ;  La Tôlerie, Clermont Ferrand (2019) ; la Fondation FLAX, Los Angeles (2019) ; l’Espacio 23 de la collection Jorge Perez, Miami (2019) et le MACAAL, Marrakech (2020).

EN SAVOIR +
Portrait Anaïs Lepage © Olivier Lechat, Drawing Lab Paris

Anaïs Lepage

Anaïs Lepage est commissaire d’exposition, historienne de l’art et autrice.

Ses recherches portent sur les excès et les faits minoritaires de l’histoire de l’art en lien avec une histoire culturelle des affects et des spiritualités, les études décoloniales, de genre et féministes. Elle réfléchit aux formes d’écriture sur l’art en déplaçant les registres critique, narratif et intime lors de collaborations, d’ateliers et de performances.

Formée en Histoire de l’art à l’École du Louvre, en Muséologie à l’Université du Québec à Montréal et en Études curatoriales à l’Université Paris I Panthéon Sorbonne, elle multiplie les expériences en France et à l’étranger. Elle débute à la Maison Rouge à Paris, au Musée d’art contemporain de Montréal et aux côtés de Guillaume Désanges à la Verrière – Fondation Hermès à Bruxelles. Elle s’investit ensuite en tant que commissaire assistante au Musée d’Art Moderne de Paris, au Musée d’Art Contemporain de Chengdu et à la Fondation Louis Vuitton à Paris.

Elle a cofondé la plateforme curatoriale HEIWATA, basée entre Paris, Mexico et Toronto, et participe à l’atelier d’écriture queer et féministe How to Suppress Universty Writing mené par Émilie Noteris. Elle a développé des projets avec des artistes tel·le·s que Madison Bycroft, Julien Creuzet, Gaëlle Choisne, Tarik Kiswanson, Ad Minoliti et Rachel Rose. Elle a collaboré récemment avec l’AICA International, le CNEAI, le Palais de Tokyo et la Cité Internationale des arts à Paris. Depuis 2019, elle enseigne le commissariat d’exposition à l’Université Paris 1 Panthéon-Sorbonne.

VUES DE L'EXPOSITION

Article ajouté au panier
0 Produit - 0,00