FERMÉ TEMPORAIREMENT | ENTRÉE GRATUITE | INFOS PRATIQUES |
FERMÉ TEMPORAIREMENT | GRATUIT | INFOS PRATIQUES |

Ariadne’s Tape

AUTUMN 2021

Artist: Vanessa Enriquez

Office: Ece Pazarbas

Ariadne's Tape is an exhibition by Vanessa Enriquez who uses the magnetic tape of VHS cassettes as drawing material to activate the "meta-spaces" of the Drawing Lab.
The exhibition proposes to consider the architectural structure of the exhibition space, located in the basement of the building, as a metaphor for a cave and is interested in the magnetic strip as a drawing instrument capable of activating the "meta-spaces" in the place, but also in the viewer. The artist's project through this exhibition is to continue his exploration of the aesthetic and transformative possibilities of the VHS band, in response to the research of Dr. Jacobo Grinberg, a Mexican neurophysiologist, whose work has focused on the ancestral techniques used by shamans, geometric stimuli and meditation and their effects on brain activity.

Knowing that drawing is one of the oldest forms of human expression, considered also as a form of specialized communication even before the invention of the written language, and going back to the word "curé" and its rootlatine of the 14th century curatus, meaning "spiritual guide" or "the one who is responsible for the care (of souls)", we ask these questions as the guiding thread of the exhibition : Can a broader approach to this medium contribute to the activation of archaic forms of knowledge and perception that lie dormant in us? Can a team of an exhibition curator and an artist with a trained intuition transform the "meta-spaces" of the Drawing Lab into healing spaces?

 

Ece Pazarbas
Curator of the exhibition

#ARIADNESTAPE
@DRAWINGLABPARIS

Vanessa Enriquez, Until I Disappear Key, 2019, © Vanessa Enriquez

Vanessa Enriquez, Until I Disappear Key, 2019
© Vanessa Enriquez

PARTNERS

Opening

DATES À VENIR
Informations pratiques
Nous contacter

PRESS

DATES TO COME
Download the press kit
Ask for more visuals

THE ARTIST/CURATOR DUO

Portrait Vanessa Enriquez

Vanessa Enriquez

Vanessa Enriquez was born in 1973 in Mexico City and has lived in Berlin since 2008.

After training in graphic design in Mexico City, she earned a master's degree in Fine Arts from Yale University. The use of drawing as a contemplative and inquisitor practice is at the heart of her work. On the one hand, a technique to explore consciousness through repetitive and rigorous gestures; on the other hand, a method of investigating concepts and phenomena proposed by physics and non-dusal philosophies. With tools ranging from ink to magnetic tape, it deploys geometries, on paper or in space, that refer to the multidimensional nature of reality, recognize the material as well as the immaterial and defy the viewer's perception. She received a research and production grant from the Mexican Art Fund (2017-2020). His work has recently been exhibited in institutions such as the Querétaro Museum of Contemporary Art (2019) and the Museum of Contemporary Art in Oaxaca (2020).

FIND OUT MORE
Portrait Ece Pazarbasi

ECE PAZARBASI

Ece Pazarbas works and evolves at the subtle border between conservation practice and artistic research, within the framework of his main profession. His curatorial and artistic practice revolves around interdisciplinary crossovers that result in alternative formats of education, exhibitions, situations and the creation of communities with strong ties. With a particular interest in multi-level experimental approaches, she has carried out numerous projects around sound, urban planning, digital and analog public space, participatory art, food, human body technology and perception.

Recent conservation projects include: Field Kitchen Academy, an interdisciplinary educational residency program, in 2019 and 2020; "The Things We are Made Of", a series of four exhibitions at the WAM Turku W-in Aaltonen Museum of Art, Finland (2020-2021); the exhibition "Cabinet of the Unknown" at the Berlin Werkbundarchiv - Museum der Dinge (2017); the main exhibition "Bank Blank" at 48 Stunden Neukiln de
Berlin (2018); "Memory Plates" as part of the Festival of Future Nows at Berlin's Hamburger Bahnhof (2017); "Muscle Memory" at the Kunstraum Bethanien/Kreuzberg in Berlin (2017); or the exhibitions "12/12" and "Turkish Art Nice and Simple" at the Tanas gallery in Berlin (2011-2012), co-created with René Block.

Among the many scholarships she received, she was privileged to receive a research grant from Olafur Eliasson's Institution for Space Experimentation (IFREX) in 2013. She is also a member of the board of directors of the Else Foundation and a member of the jury of the Berlin Senate and the local cultural offices in Berlin. She is also a senior lecturer at the University of Aalto in Finland.

ARTIST'S WORK

Item added to cart.
0 items - 0,00

FERMÉ TEMPORAIREMENT | ENTRÉE GRATUITE | INFOS PRATIQUES |
FERMÉ TEMPORAIREMENT | GRATUIT | INFOS PRATIQUES |

Ariadne’s Tape

16 OCTOBRE 2021 - 12 JANVIER 2022

Artiste : Vanessa Enriquez

Commissariat : Ece Pazarbası

Ariadne’s Tape est une exposition de Vanessa Enriquez qui utilise la bande magnétique des cassettes VHS comme matériel de dessin permettant d’activer les "méta-espaces" du Drawing Lab.

L’exposition propose d’envisager la structure architecturale de l’espace d’exposition, situé au sous-sol du bâtiment, comme la métaphore d’une grotte et s’intéresse à la bande magnétique comme étant un instrument de dessin capable d’activer les "méta-espaces" dans le lieu, mais aussi chez le spectateur. Le projet de l’artiste à travers cette exposition est de poursuivre son exploration des possibilités esthétiques et transformatrices de la bande VHS, en réponse aux recherches du Dr Jacobo Grinberg, neurophysiologiste mexicain, dont les travaux ont porté sur les techniques ancestrales utilisées par les chamans, les stimuli géométriques et la méditation ainsi que leurs effets sur l’activité cérébrale.

Sachant que le dessin est l’une des plus anciennes formes d’expression humaine, considéré par ailleurs comme une forme de communication spécialisée avant même l’invention de la langue écrite, et en remontant au mot “curé” et à sa racinelatine du 14ème siècle curatus, signifiant “guide spirituel” ou “celui qui est responsable du soin (des âmes)”, nous posons ces questions comme le fil conducteur de l’exposition : Une approche élargie de ce médium peut-elle contribuer à l’activation de formes archaïques de connaissance et de perception qui sommeillent en nous ? Une équipe composée d’une commissaire d’exposition et d’une artiste ayant une intuition entraînée peut-elle transformer les “méta-espaces” du Drawing Lab en espaces de guérison ?

 

Ece Pazarbası
Commissaire de l’exposition

#ARIADNESTAPE
@DRAWINGLABPARIS

Vanessa Enriquez, Until I Disappear Key, 2019, © Vanessa Enriquez

Vanessa Enriquez, Until I Disappear Key, 2019
© Vanessa Enriquez

PARTENAIRES

VERNISSAGE

SAMEDI 16 OCTOBRE 2021  |  11H - 19H EN PRÉSENCE DE L'ARTISTE 
Informations pratiques
Nous contacter

PRESSE

VENDREDI 15 OCTOBRE 2021  |  9H - 11H
Télécharger le dossier de presse
Demander + de visuels

LE DUO ARTISTE / COMMISSAIRE

Portrait Vanessa Enriquez

Vanessa Enriquez

Vanessa Enriquez est née en 1973 à Mexico et installée à Berlin depuis 2008.

Après une formation en design graphique à Mexico, elle a obtenu une maîtrise en Beaux-Arts de l’Université de Yale. L'utilisation du dessin comme une pratique contemplative et inquisitrice est au cœur de son travail. D'une part, une technique permettant d'explorer la conscience par des gestes répétitifs et rigoureux ; d'autre part, une méthode d’investigation des concepts et des phénomènes proposés par la physique et les philosophies non duelles. Avec des outils allant de l'encre à la bande magnétique, elle déploie des géométries, sur papier ou dans l'espace, qui font référence à la nature multidimensionnelle de la réalité, reconnaissent le matériel aussi bien que l'immatériel et défient la perception du spectateur. Elle a reçu une bourse de recherche et de production du Fonds Mexicain pour l'Art (2017-2020). Son travail a été exposé récemment dans des institutions telles que le Musée d'art contemporain Querétaro (2019) et le Musée d'art contemporain de Oaxaca (2020).

EN SAVOIR +
Portrait Ece Pazarbasi

ECE PAZARBASI

Ece Pazarbası travaille et évolue à la frontière subtile entre pratique de la conservation et recherche artistique, dans le cadre de sa profession principale. Sa pratique curatoriale et artistique s’articule autour de croisements interdisciplinaires qui se traduisent par des formats alternatifs d’éducation, d’expositions, de situations et par la création de communautés aux liens solides. Avec un intérêt particulier pour les approches expérimentales à plusieurs niveaux, elle a réalisé de nombreux projets autour du son, de l’urbanisme, de l’espace public numérique et analogique, de l’art participatif, de l’alimentation, de la technologie du corps humain et de la perception.

Parmi ses récents projets de conservation, on peut citer : Field Kitchen Academy, un programme interdisciplinaire de résidence éducative, en 2019 et 2020 ; “The Things We are Made Of”, une série de quatre expositions au WAM Turku Wäinö Aaltonen Museum of Art, Finlande (2020-2021) ; l’exposition “Cabinet of the Unknown” au Berlin Werkbundarchiv - Museum der Dinge (2017) ; l’exposition principale “Bank Blank” au 48 Stunden Neukölln de
Berlin (2018) ; “Memory Plates” dans le cadre du Festival of Future Nows à la Hamburger Bahnhof de Berlin (2017) ; “Muscle Memory” au Kunstraum Bethanien/Kreuzberg de Berlin (2017) ; ou encore les expositions “12/12” et “Turkish Art Nice and Simple” à la galerie Tanas de Berlin (2011-2012), co-créée avec René Block.

Parmi les nombreuses bourses qu’elle a pu recevoir, elle a eu le privilège d’obtenir une bourse de recherche de l’Institution pour l’expérimentation spatiale (IFREX) d’Olafur Eliasson en 2013. Elle est aussi membre du conseil d’administration de la fondation Else et membre du jury du Sénat de Berlin et des bureaux culturels locaux de Berlin. Elle est également maître de conférence intervenant à l’université d’Aalto, en Finlande.

TRAVAIL DE L'ARTISTE