June 28th – September 8th 2018: Drawing Lab : Summer Cinema

Programme of drawing and animated videos of the young European scene

Artists: Jérôme Allavena, Vincent Broquaire, Susi Jirkuff, Pernille Kjaer, Thomas Léon, Massinissa Selmani, David Shrigley

THE EXHIBITION

On a proposal from Christine Phal – Founder of Drawing Lab and of Drawing Now Art Fair – the artistic committee members have invited emerging artists of the young European scene to present drawing and animated videos.

Daria de Beauvais, Sandra Hegedüs, Elsy Lahner, Philippe Piguet, as well as Christine Phal have selected one or several artists. Seven artists with different artistic worlds have been chosen to offer an insight of the young contemporary creation.

This programme of videos reveals the diversity and the wealth of contemporary drawing which keeps surprising. Drawing takes possession of the site and comes to life through various forms.

Thanks to this event, the Drawing Lab carries on its main mission: to free drawing from the sheet and to present prospective artworks.

ARTISTS ON THE BILL

On a proposal from Daria de Beauvais: Thomas Léon, Ecdysis (2018)

On a proposal from Sanda Hegedüs: Massinissa Selmani, Histoires parallèles (2008) et À côté ! (2010)

On a proposal from Elsy Lahner: Susi Jirkuff, Ginny (2015) and David Shrigley, The Artist (2012)

On a proposal from Philippe Piguet: Jérôme Allavena, Niveaux (2008) et Émergence (2007)

On a proposal from Christine Phal: Pernille Kjaer, Toby (2017) and Vincent Broquaire, Muséiformes Ep. 10 (2016) and Stratum (2016)

 

Drawing in the age of video and digital art

Since their inception, new technologies have impacted artistic creation. An integral part of the initial stages of visual art conception, drawing has also been affected by this phenomenon. Having always explored and made use of new technical developments, artists today enthusiastically use digital tools both for video and animation art.

As they employ video techniques or CADD (computer-assisted design and drafting) and subsequent applications like Photoshop, e-Design, and Paint, artists have to grapple with a different temporality and a modified relation to supports and space. Surprising new creative worlds thus meet the eye of unsuspecting beholders. Whether narratives or single units, shown on a monitor or projected onto screens or walls, drawings that employ new technologies necessitate the eyes to look at an image for a certain duration at a time when the surfeit of images in everyday life today has limited our gazes to a strict minimum. Beyond all technical considerations and whichever means an artist chooses to use, the prerogative of this type of drawing is that it lets us relearn how to see by simply taking the time to see.

Philippe Piguet
Art historian and art critic,
Independent curator,
Member of the Drawing Lab’s selection committee

28 juin – 8 septembre 2018 : Drawing Lab : cinéma d’été

Programmation de vidéos de dessin et d’animation de la jeune scène européenne

Artistes : Jérôme Allavena, Vincent Broquaire,  Susi Jirkuff, Pernille Kjaer, Thomas Léon, Massinissa Selmani, David Shrigley

L’EXPOSITION

Sur une proposition de Christine Phal, fondatrice du Drawing Lab et de Drawing Now Art Fair, les membres du comité artistique ont invité des artistes émergents de la jeune scène européenne à présenter des vidéos de dessin et d’animation.

Daria de Beauvais, Sandra Hegedüs, Elsy Lahner, Philippe Piguet, ainsi que Christine Phal, ont chacun sélectionné un ou plusieurs artistes. Sept artistes aux univers différents ont donc été choisis pour donner un aperçu de la jeune création contemporaine.

Cette programmation de vidéos dévoile la diversité et la richesse du dessin contemporain qui ne cesse de surprendre. Le dessin prend possession du lieu en s’animant sous différentes formes.

Grâce à cet événement, le Drawing Lab continue sa mission principale : faire sortir le dessin de la feuille pour présenter des œuvres prospectives.

ARTISTES A L’AFFICHE

Proposition de Daria de Beauvais : Thomas Léon, Ecdysis (2018)

Proposition de Sanda Hegedüs : Massinissa Selmani, Histoires parallèles (2008) et À côté ! (2010)

Proposition de Elsy Lahner : Susi Jirkuff, Ginny (2015) et David Shirley, The Artist (2012)

Proposition de Philippe Piguet : Jérôme Allavena, Niveaux (2008) et Émergence (2007)

Proposition de Christine Phal : Pernille Kjaer, Toby (2017) et Vincent Broquaire, Muséiformes Ep. 10 (2016) et Stratum (2016)

 

Du dessin à l’ère de la vidéo et du numérique

Dès leur avènement, les nouvelles technologies n’ont pas tardé à envahir le monde de la création artistique. Parce qu’il est en amont de toute pensée plastique, le dessin n’y a évidemment pas échappé et il s’est fait tantôt vidéographique, tantôt d’animation, les artistes se découvrant volontiers gourmands de numérique, comme ils le sont toujours de toutes les nouveautés techniques qui apparaissent au fil du temps.

A l’exercice de la vidéo ou du D.A.O. – le dessin assisté par ordinateur – et de toutes les applications subséquentes – Photoshop, e-design, Paint, etc. -, les artistes sont amenés à composer avec une autre temporalité dans un rapport au support et à l’espace également autres. C’est dire à la surprise de quel univers de création le regard est convoqué. Qu’il s’agisse de narration ou d’unités individuées, qu’il s’agisse de diffusion sur un moniteur ou de projection sur un écran ou sur un mur, les dessins qui recourent aux technologies nouvelles imposent au regard une durée revalorisant un temps du regard que l’invasion des images dans notre quotidien réduit au strict minimum. Par-delà toute considération technique, quels que soient les outils employés par les artistes, on pourrait donc dire que l’apanage de ce type de dessin est de nous réapprendre à voir. A prendre tout simplement le temps de voir.

Philippe Piguet
historien et critique d’art,
curateur indépendant,
membre du comité de sélection de Drawing Lab